ORDINANCE 18-

An Ordinance to Abolish Legislative Body Districts.

WHEREAS the Indiana Code provides in I.C. §36-5-2-4.1(n) that "[i]f the town legislative body has not: (1) adopted an ordinance under subsection (a) and subject to subsection (g) after December 31, 2011; or (2) adopted an ordinance recertifying districts under subsection (k) after December 31, 2011; the town legislative body districts are abolished effective January 1, 2018;"

WHEREAS, the Town of Dayton, Indiana has, in the past, elected two members of the Town Board from districts and three members at large; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Dayton, Indiana has determined that it is in the Town's best interest that three members of the Town Board be elected from districts and two members at large; and

WHEREAS, the Indiana Code §36-5-2-4.1(a) and (g) permit a town having a population of fewer than three thousand five hundred (3,500) to establish wards;

NOW THEREOFRE BE IT ORDAINED THAT:

- 1. Three (3) legislative districts are hereby established within the Town of Dayton, Indiana.
- 2. The map attached hereto and incorporated by reference, being arrived at with the advice and input of the Tippecanoe County Area Plan Commission, shall serve as the visual depiction of the wards.
- 3. Chapter 32 of the Code of Ordinances for the Town of Dayton is hereby amended to read as follows:

WARDS. The number of wards in the town is hereby fixed at three (3).

BOUNDARIES. All boundaries described by streets, alleys or railroad tracks are considered to be divided at the centerline of the street, alley or railroad track described. The Town of Dayton, Indiana, pursuant to I.C. 36-5-2-4.1 is hereby divided into the following election districts and wards, having the following boundaries.

WARD 1. All that land lying within the town limits of Dayton and west of the following described line: Beginning at Dayton Road at the northern town limits, continuing southeast along Dayton Road to its intersection with Clifty Falls Lane, thence continuing west along Clifty Falls Lane to Nicely Drive, thence continuing south along Nicely Drive to Harrison Circle; thence following Harrison Circle east, and then continuing along the curve to the south (where it eventually becomes

Harrison Street) until its intersection with Main Street; thence continuing east on Main Street until its intersection with Republican Street; thence continuing south along Republican Street until its intersection with Walnut Street (SR 38); thence continuing west along Walnut Street to the western town limits of Dayton.

WARD 2. All of that land lying within the town Limits of Dayton and east of the following described line: Beginning at Dayton Road at the northern town limits, continuing southeast along Dayton Road to its intersection with College Street; thence continuing east along College Street to its intersection with Market Street; thence continuing south along Market Street to its intersection with Main Street; then continuing east along Main Street to the eastern town limits of Dayton.

WARD 3. All that land lying within the town limits of Dayton and south of the following described line: Beginning at Main Street where it intersects with the eastern town limits; thence continuing west along Main Street until its intersection with Market Street; thence continuing north on Market Street to its intersection with College Street; thence continuing west along College Street to its intersection with Dayton Road; thence continuing northwest along Dayton Road to its intersection with Clifty Falls Lane; thence continuing west on Clifty Falls Lane to its intersection with Nicely Drive; thence continuing south on Nicely Drive to its intersection with Harrison Circle; thence continuing east on Harrison Circle and following the curve to the south (where it eventually becomes Harrison Street) to its intersection with Main Street; thence continuing east on Main Street until its intersection with Republican Street; thence continuing south on Republican Street until its intersection with Walnut Street (SR 38); thence continuing west along Walnut Street to the western town limits of Dayton.

ELECTION OF TOWN COUNCIL MEMBERS. One (1) member of the Town Council shall be elected from each ward by the voters of the ward in which the member resides, and two (2) members of the Town Council shall be elected at large by the voters of the whole Town.

- 4. The Town Council seats, as enumerated, shall be numbered with the Ward representatives corresponding to their Ward numbers, and with the at large members being numbered 4 and 5, in alphabetical order of their last names.
- 5. This ordinance supersedes all prior ordinances fixing the number of wards, the ward boundaries, the number of Town Council members, the number of Town Council members elected at large, and the seat to which each member is elected. This ordinance shall be effective on December 1, 2018.

	D ANI	D PASSED	BY	THE	TOWN	COUNCIL	OF	THE	TOWN	OF
DAYTON, INDIANA THIS					, 2018.					
		Presiding Officer								
ATTEST:										
		, Clerk-T	reasu	rer						